Layers Letting Go

When I pull back the layers to see what’s inside, It’s no wonder I want to run and hide

The pain that I felt, the hurt that I hid, the confusion and shame that haunted within

When people should love you but hurt you instead, you sometimes wonder if you would be better off dead

Then you get angry at God and wonder where He is

When as a child you were told, just trust Him and all will be well, then your home life turns into a living hell

The perverts and freaks they come out of the woodwork, they bring with them numbness that covers up hurt

no one sees what happens inside when men treat a girl like a woman

then one day the girl she grows up, with a boatload of hurt and having nowhere to land

she decides that she must have been the one who caused it, it came by her own hand

she’d been told that for years, it’s all in your head, I don’t know why you are here we wish you were gone

then one day she feels the Holy Spirit speak to her in a song

she lays down the burden but the side effects remain, each one to be sifted through and placed in the mane

of the Lion of Judah the one who cares, the one who saw everything and was always there

He’s healing her inside of self hate and no self esteem He takes her to places that were only in her dreams

The life He lives through her is a battle for sure but there is one thing for certain, the woman can roar

so get out of her way there’s a new day to dawn she’s facing her past and it won’t be long

before the pain is over- only scars will remain and those who hurt her will be confused indeed because they will encounter a child of the King.

He is jealous for those who love him with wild abandon Christ took the hurt for us when He died on that tree He makes beauty from ashes for all to see.

so curse me if you wish and tell me to die, but I know one day you will look God in the eye

to answer for all that you caused for his kid, I hope He shows you mercy, though you never did

because I leave the pain a little more each day on that tree, I don’t love you on my own and I will no longer pretend that things didn’t happen when I know they did

so deal with the Lion, you will see Him one day and until then you should know I am no longer afraid

 

Leave a comment